Materialistic Christmas Time again

2011/12 Note: Christmas is the only time I come home. Other holidays do not carry the same weight. Being home and having parents to still be able to visit is a fine gift.

Ah, the season of shopping. Credit cards pushed to the limit. Thousands of dollars spent on friends and family. All this for one day. Christmas.

I would like something this year, but there’s really nothing I would want to ask for. I do have things I desire, but I feel guilt. Not working for my income, my parents will spot a gift. I can’t justify a $500 purchase unless it was needed by me. And they won’t justify it either.

It’s interesting how some parents spend over $1000 on their kid. The only-childs should get more on average than the families with two or more. Let me guess, what are some staple objects on a wish-list? iPod, phone, camera, laptop, and clothes. All of that needs to be there on Christmas morning. If not, let the whining begin. In total, that’s at least $500 per kid, and if there’s multiple offspring, it’s around the same price as a family vacation.

Have we become materialistic? What happened to the family gatherings and the “oh, you forgot my present, that’s alright”? What do presents fulfill? A moment of happiness then a hour bitterness? “Why didn’t you get the blue one?” or “I want more!” It’s truly impossible to satisfy anyone, unless there is nothing.

Let’s re-discover the true meaning of Christmas. We all deserve a present, but separate the “need” from the “want”. Yes, I wish I had a Ferrari but I don’t need it. I want a Plasma tv but I don’t need it. You see where I’m going. Don’t force-pick a present just because there’s nothing else. Waste of money, and it won’t bring any form of joy.

To think of this, I don’t have any needs this year, to be fulfilled on Christmas. I know my dad wants a Lacoste polo shirt, so I’ll get him one. My mom, I don’t know. But it’s clothes I think. Hopefully, it all works out and I can celebrate Christmas with the family. No gifts, and I will refuse any form of money or object.

Let me add one last thing. I like the scene of the Christmas tree with all the shiny presents under it. It’s just a heart-warming image when the little kids are in joy and awe when opening their presents. And for one special day a year, less-fortunate families can let their kids feel like every other kid in the parts of the world that celebrate Christmas. Presents don’t discriminate. This is what I like about Christmas. But then there’s the people who are never satisfied with anything, and that just enrages me. The good side of Christmas doesn’t negate all of the bad side for me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughts

Leave a Reply

