Entry Card

The thing that is dreadful for me when traveling back to China is the entry card. Being born in China and raised there until 5 or 6 years old, one would expect me to at least know how to write my name. But I don’t. English has taken over my ability to write any Chinese characters.

Simple form. Foreign travelers, please fill out in English.

The problem is, I’m not technically a foreigner. I am legally a citizen of China, and in June, I still will be. The back of this form is the same printout, but in Chinese. And they expect me to fill it out in Chinese characters. I recall last time when the officer  told us to go back and fill it in.

This isn’t a problem when I’m traveling with my parents. But it seems I might be flying solo for once. Great experience to fly unaccompanied, but not this part. Chinese entry card, you depress me. I have no idea what would happen if I just filled out the English part. They could force me back to the fill-in counter, but I wouldn’t know what to write. Do they deny me the privilege of entering my country? Will I be stuck in the little check-in area forever?

The story will conclude when I’m either past the counter or stuck in the airport.

Photo source:

http://www.yilongwei.com/board/viewtopic.php?t=259

Believe me. This is only one of many little slips of papers to fill.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

