Followup

Folowing yesterday’s post about professors and emailing them about my stuttering, I decided to go ahead and do it.

Here’s the basic format I used.

Hello Mr. Professor,

My name is badcastd, or “badcastd” as I prefer to be called. I was recently enrolled into your class that meets on weekdays from 1000-1000.

The main reason for my email is that I wanted to inform you beforehand that I have a mild stutter/stammer. It doesn’t affect my abilities to work or discuss anything during class. I will occassionally take a little longer to speak or present but that’s the most my speech impediment will hinder me.

I’m not asking for leniency or exemption from discussions or presentations. I thought it would be better for the professor to know ahead of time about my problem. This is the first time I’ve written an email explaining my situation and it’s just as awkward for me as it might be for you.

I hope you understand my situation and I thank you for your time.

badcastd

Does it soumd pathetic? I tried not to make it sound pathetic and weak. I can’t hide my speech impediment anymore. Going to face it and don’t care what it does to me. Next up: email to the ROTC freshmen admissions person. I don’t want to work my ass off for 3 years just to end up being disqualified by DoDMERB.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

